What to do with fresh, local summer fruit?

apricot_fool_1Oh, have I mentioned how much I adore the summer months? We’ve been lucky this year (here in the Philadelphia area) with lots of plant-loving rain and cooler-than-usual summer days. I have been thinking that we’ve had an especially long spring, but here it is, nearly mid-July. In any case, here in Philly, there have also been more and more local farmers markets creeping up. Thanks to the Food Trust, one just opened on Temple University’s campus, where I work my day job in the department of Public Health.  Amish farmers come in from Lancaster every Thursday to bring a lovely array of local produce, including all the seasonal berries and fruits.

This week I purchased some lovely looking apricots, a fruit my daughter Maeve has only seen in dried form. She’s a terribly picky eater, as many toddlers are, and so I thought that perhaps making a fruit “Fool” with whipped cream would do the trick, as she’s already sold on whipped cream. All I did was cut up a few apricots, cook them down a bit with some water, drizzle some honey over the cooked apricots, and then fold them into freshly whipped cream.

apricot_fool_2Happily, my sneaky plan worked! She tried the new fruit in freshly-sliced form, as these beauties really are too hard to resist, and then enjoyed a cooked fruit version when folded into freshly whipped cream and drizzled with honey for a delightful summer confection.

09.07.08_maeve_apricotfool Try  William Sonoma’s Raspberry-Rhubarb Fool recipe for another take. Martha Stewart, whose recipes are pretty fool-proof, I must admit, has a blackberry fool recipe, among others, on her recipe-finder.
apricot_fool_3

Leave a Reply

