Lilith Restructuring: Do I get a bail out?

09.07.09_orchard_maeve&momThis is an important post because first and foremost, Lilith’s Apothecary is here to serve my customers. For those of you who are loyal to my products, contact me for custom products, facial consultations, herbal tea and tincture blends, and just rely on natural body and facial care, I am here for you! The upside of this business is that it is growing and growing! In fact, I can’t possibly keep up with the growth curve, though I wish I could. It’s unfortunate that I am not in the financial position to quit my 40 hr a week ‘day job’ and that, combined with parenting a toddler and trying to be a good partner to my archaeologist husband, makes it almost impossible to keep up with the diversity of offerings, increasing numbers of wholesale requests, and local retail opportunities here in Philadelphia.

I love what I do with Lilith’s Apothecary and I am not willing to let the business diminish, but I am going to need to ‘restructure’ a bit to ensure that I can keep up. All these 3 am work nights are just not sustainable! Though there’s no financial bail out for me (sadly), despite my passion and love for what I do, I still need to find ways to refine my product offerings, perhaps limiting some lines that are currently available.

So the very important request for YOU, my fans, is to comment below on what you personally can’t live without or had hoped to try in the future. What are the vital Lilith products that stand out? Not only will this feedback help me hear the voice of my customers, but it will ensure that I don’t cut out a product that you personally love. I don’t want to let anyone down as a restructure the Apothecary.

28 Responses to Lilith Restructuring: Do I get a bail out?

  1. Cynthia Burt says:

    Hi Sarah,

    Your body polishes, salves and aloe vera gels are what I’ve ended up using the most of.

    Maybe you could set up a “schedule” of some of your products where they are only available certain months of the year? This would allow you to rotate your focus without necessarily eliminating favorite products. (Something like: bug soother only available May – July, body polish Nov – April.)

    Just an idea,
    Cynthia

    • lilithsapothecary says:

      Hi Cynthia,
      Thanks! yes, i definitely do have some items that will be on a seasonal rotations. Body Butters in the winter, Bug bite sprays & soothers in the summer. But should I get rid of lotions all together (except perhaps my chamomile & Calendula), I wonder? Should I continue to offer the body polishes? I know there are many companies that make them…do you find that Lilith’s polishes offer something special? Thanks so much for your input!

  2. waterlilysage says:

    totally understandable. sucks that the reality is that you can’t just quit your day job and be sustained by the Apothecary side of things.

    so: my two cents:

    -facial cleansing grains (orange mint)
    -facial cleanser/toner
    -geranium citrus oil
    -that creamy moisturizer pot of gold (i think it’s rose-y)
    -newly found garnder’s salve

    -decaf teas especially (rooibus, dream journey, herbal nourishment, tisane waterlily!, pregnancy tonic)

    -all the masks and bath soaks i’ve tried have been lovely, hard to choose

    it’s been a little while since i’ve visited your shop and there are some nice new offerings (summertime tea!)

    for me it’s the face/body/bath and tea lines that i seem to gravitate towards consistently. less the soap/perfume lines.

    hope this helps, lady.

    • lilithsapothecary says:

      It is wonderful to get the input of some of my best customers! I have been deliberating about the bath products, though I feel that mine are relatively unique. It is so hard to decide where to pare down! My facial lines and Tea lines are two of my favorite, but I also love the Mama & Baby line so it’s really a difficult thing to decide. Maybe this is more about turning down wholesale offerings right now, though that is limiting to my businesses growth. It may just have to wait until I’m in a better financial position ;-( Thank you Lady Waterlily! (for anyone who is reading this, Tisane Waterlily is named after this Lovely!)

  3. jennie says:

    well everything that comes from your shop has been a treat! the chamomile/calendula lotion has been incredibly healing for my eczema – i would especially miss that. my skin is also loving the orange rosewood soap & facial moisturizer.

    • lilithsapothecary says:

      There is no question that I will continue to make that lotion, b/c my daughter depends on it too! And there is just nothing like it anywhere. I’ve been pondering jetisoning my own facial creams, but I also think that they are much loved by many and frankly, when I test other base formulas made by others….they’re just not the same. I appreciate your comments, Jennie, and I’m so glad that cream is continuing to work well for you!

  4. Vicky says:

    Sarah,
    I’d say the lip balm (love it), the salve that Missy and Bryan swear by for cuts, dry skin etc – not sure what it is called. I have not tried much else, but did enjoy the soap you gave us at Christmas…it was a great exfoliant. I think it had lavendar in it.

    So sorry you are having to stretch yourself so much.

    I’d like to try the facial toner and cleanser. Apparently I have a bit of rosacea and my skin is quit sensitive to most retial cleansers and tonors. I emd up drying it out and then it gets red.

    That’s my 2 cents. Good luck!

    V

    • lilithsapothecary says:

      Vicky!
      Thanks so much for your input…I really appreciate your comments ;-) Well, as an FYI, Lavender apparently has quite a calming effect on rosacea and I often suggest my Lavender Facial Elixir (cleanser/toner but not make-up remover) for a very gentle, calming elixir that will help reduce redness. The lavender facial cream can also be helpful. oops – there I go giving advice! I know what you mean about the drying effects of commercial products though ;-)

  5. Cynthia Barthole says:

    I have just discovered Lilith’s Apothecary and I am in love with your Rose Facial Toner! I was also hoping to try as many of your Lavender products since I have very sensitive skin. I also was interested in eventually buying your eye cream and your nourishing skin serum. Hope this helps!

    • lilithsapothecary says:

      Thank you for your comments Cynthia! I do think a lot of people depend on the facial care line, and I do so appreciate your feedback. Those serums are definitely staying with me, as they are a pretty unique and luxurious product ;-)

  6. gneff says:

    I will cry myself to sleep at night if you get rid of the Silk Kimono body butter. It smells soooo good.

    I’ve also been wanting to try some of your facial sprays/toners, and masks, so I hope you don’t get rid of all of those.

    • lilithsapothecary says:

      awwww….you’re sweet. I will keep doing it. Just probably offer it only in the fall & winter or something. ;-)

    • lilithsapothecary says:

      oh, and I should have said that if anything stays, it will definitely be the natural facial care!

  7. Tammy says:

    Sara,
    Every product I have purchased, I have loved! Lol If I would have to pick several favorites, it would be…Both of your Salves. I have tried 4 or 5 other salves on Etsy, none compare. Maybe you could combine them and have one great salve! Love your lavender face cream and your eye cream. I would cry if you stopped making them.

    Take care,
    Tammy

    • lilithsapothecary says:

      Thank you Tammy!! I am glad you’ve enjoyed the salves…I try to create salves with their own special purposes OR with what I actually have at my disposal! Lol! They are always in essence “limited edition” b/c I have to see what I end up wild crafting or sourcing from organic farms, but in any case, you can always count on me offering herbal salves. Good to know your thoughts on the lavender facial cream…especially that one b/c lavender is such a singular scent that people tend to either love (me) or dislike. Can’t make one of my best customers cry, can I? Thank you so much for commenting.

  8. Amy says:

    My favorite products of yours are definitely the orange rosewood facial moisturizer, the rose facial cleanser/toner, and the nourishing skin serum. I have dry, sensitive skin and your products have been the best I’ve found and believe me, I’ve tried many. They make my skin feel so soft and that’s no easy task. Thank you! Oh, and I’m going to try the geranium cleansing oil just as soon as you get the orange facial cream in again. :)

    • lilithsapothecary says:

      Hello there Amy!
      Thank you for your feedback and advice. I am glad to know that the facial cream suites you well, along with the other products you mentioned. Unfortunately the nourishing rose cleansing elixir is probably being phased out, but only in favor of some new formulations that will be equally delightful, and of course I’ll continue to carry the Rose facial mist and the Rose & Aloe Toner. I think you’d like that cleansing oil too, and I’ll look forward to your feedback. I promse to put that Orange Rosewood cream up ASAP! Thanks Amy ;-)

  9. F. says:

    What happened to the Orange Rosewood Facial Cream? I went your etsy shop to order another batch (loved it the first time!), and I was also hoping to try out the Chamomile and Green Tea Eye Potion — but they weren’t listed anymore! Please say they’ll be back in your shop? Anytime soon?

    • lilithsapothecary says:

      Hello there! It’s not in my shop simply because I am in the process of making up a totally fresh batch ;-) It seems that this is another staple item that my customers won’t let me do away with (lol)…The Chamomile & Green tea eye potion should be there, so I’ll check to make sure it’s listed and in the “FACE” section where it belongs. Thanks so much for your note and feel free to convo me via etsy anytime you don’t see something you want. Best, Sarah

  10. SnoopyDoo says:

    Hi Sarah,
    have been busy creaming and pampering myself with your products, so I haven’t been shopping at yours for a while. Just saw your little note on Etsy and I though I need to give you a ashout straight away.
    You know how devoted I am to your magic and your products. Nothing else has touched my skin since I found you!!!
    I think a great way forward would be a seasonal approach to certain products / lines. Richer creams and butters during the winter and maybe the meringue ( Which I love!! ) and more mists for the summer. I personally have this very fussy skin and all the products you recommended or made for me are spot on. Permanently in use is the calendula and myrrh mask, the clarifying face oil in the summer, the nourishing in the winter (if I had to choose only one, this would be the product to keep selling ;), also I use the facial mist every day. I am interested in ayurvedic concepts and I love the fact that you are partially influenced by it as well. The local sourcing where possible and organic approach is crucial to me, too! It is hard to say what you could just leave out, because everything you make seems to be fantastic. Also the fact you are so kind, give lots of advice and offer custom-made products are a bliss.
    Will be round the next two or three weeks, I need some of that Rose and Sandalwood Mist!
    Bianca xx

    • lilithsapothecary says:

      My dear Bianca! Oh, it is so wonderful to hear from all of my true patrons – and I will say again that all of you are the reason I do this in the first place! I think you are totally right to look at seasonal lines. Especially when rich butters such as my shea whips tend to ‘melt’ in the summer heat and people prefer lighter fare in the warm months anyway. Thank you so much for your feedback and advice. I so value your business and just the great interactions that we always have. I adore those mists and serums too, so don’t worry — they will continue to be a fixture in my offerings ;-) You’re the best!
      Sarah

  11. Noelle says:

    I’ve only purchased your facial masks and bath milk, but I adore both. I think your facial line is most dear to me, though, so I very much hope that you continue to stock the masks!

    • lilithsapothecary says:

      Oh goody! I am so glad you’ve been enjoying everything. Facial masks, especially because they are so much better than any commercial mask you can buy, are here to stay. In fact, if everything else goes, I’ll still be making my masks! lol. The bath milks are pure luxury but my milks might be something that gets put on hold for the moment. Hey – if you happen to make an order any time soon, convo me and I’ll add in some excess bath milk! Thanks so much for your comments, Noelle.

  12. Navessa says:

    i really love the silk kimono scent and products – but i can see how that would be a fall/winter scent since it is “deeper”, kwim?

    the chamomile & Calendula lotion is wonderful for my son’s skim (he’s almost 3).

    my husband has been using the anti-fugal salve like crazy (i need to get more).

    i do use butters in the summer, especially on my feet. lotions are good year round.

    i love the facial line (but you’ve already stated that will remain :) ).

    maybe just a few key soaps to keep?

    the teas are wonderful too!

    • lilithsapothecary says:

      Thank you Navessa! I appreciate your comments so much. That cham & caledula cream is here to stay, as my daughter needs it just as much as your son (Maeve is also almost 3 – August 14th!) And I will always have herbal salves, but the anti-fungal one is more of a periodic offering. Still, it’s good to know that it has been beneficial to your family! Thank you so much for your feedback and continual patronage of my shop
      Sarah

  13. Helena says:

    I simply LOVE your masks. I hope to see the Lavender French Clay mask continue to be offered. I also hope to see the Balinese Red Flower mask stay in the shop. I haven’t tried it yet, but I am looking forward to giving it a try next time I purchase.

    • lilithsapothecary says:

      Oh thank you for your comment on this post, Helena! I think that of all my masks, the Lavender French Clay is one of the ones I may discontinue for the time being, though it is an excellent mask. I just haven’t found a way to get as many people to try it! But that Balinese mask is *such* a jewel, I will always try to continue to offer it. And hey! Thank you for your recent purchase of the Dead Sea Clay mask. I hope you love it!!

  14. [...] of all, dear readers, I must thank you for your generous response to my “restructuring” post and for all of your wonderful support for your favorite [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 499 other followers

